the joy of giving

Standard

De cand pluteste peste noi atmosfera Craciunului, incep sa ma simt putin ca Sheldon. Pentru cei care nu se uita la The Big Bang Theory, Sheldon Cooper e un om de stiinta cu un IQ foarte mare si o la fel de mare dificultate de a stabili relatii sociale firesti cu cei din jur. El este omul-robot, sau omul-computer, care analizeaza totul la rece, desi cand e bolnavior trebuie sa i se cante Soft Kitty. :-)

Mai jos un moment din episodul „The Bath Item Hypothesis”:

Sheldon: Wait! You bought me a present?

Penny: Uh-huh.

Sheldon: Why would you do such a thing?

Penny: I don’t know. ‘Cause it’s Christmas?

Sheldon: Oh, Penny. I know you think you’re being generous, but the foundation of gift-giving is reciprocity. You haven’t given me a gift, you’ve given me an obligation.

Howard: Don’t feel bad, Penny, it’s a classic rookie mistake. My first Hanukkah with Sheldon, he yelled at me for eight nights.

Penny: Now, honey, it’s okay.You don’t have to get me anything in return.

Sheldon: Of course I do. The essence of the custom is that I now have to go out and purchase for you a gift of commensurate value and representing the same perceived level of friendship as that represented by the gift you’ve given me. It’s no wonder suicide rates skyrocket this time of year.

Penny: Okay, you know what? Forget it. I’m not giving you a present.

Sheldon: No, it’s too late. I see it. That elf sticker says to Sheldon. The die has been cast, the moving finger has writ, Hannibal has crossed the Alps.

Howard (to Raj who is whispering in his ear): I know. It’s funny when it’s not happening to us.

Penny: Sheldon, I am very, very sorry.

Sheldon: No. No, I brought this on myself by being such an endearing and important part of your life. I’m going to need a ride to the mall.

Howard: It’s happening to us.

(The Big Bang Theory, sezon 2, episod 11)

2 responses »

Lasă un răspuns

